Richmond airport museum, part 2

A lot of this stuff only interests me, but I’m posting it anyway in case others appreciate it. This isn’t really the order I wanted these in, but I realized it too late.  Moving pictures around breaks the site, and I don’t want to delete them all and lose my captions.

DSC_0596b
These tabs are to straighten the airflow over the wing to reduce the risk of stalls. This was a military training jet, I believe, so they probably did that to be a little more forgiving to new pilots.
DSC_0617b
Some widget on an SR-71 jet engine
DSC_0610b
An airspeed measuring sensor, I believe. *Correction, this is a generator. The benefit of this design is that it still provides power to critical things like instruments even if the engine and/or battery dies (although I’m not sure if planes had batteries in the 1930s).
DSC_0608b
I like how the cylinders are offset like that. I believe it was to allow the engine to be shorter, and to allow more even cooling.
DSC_0612b
That big gray donut behind the prop is an exhaust manifold (it collects the exhaust and directs it out the exhaust pipe. Very unique design.
DSC_0622b
I thought this was just a really photogenic old plane, even though function was the primary factor in the design.

DSC_0602b DSC_0611b DSC_0624b DSC_0623b DSC_0614b

Leave a Reply

