Tex-Mex pumpkin soup

First pumpkin soup recipes I’ve seen of this style. Sounds good.


http://www.aspicyperspective.com/2012/10/spicy-pumpkin-soup-recipe.html

Tried this recipe, and it was good, but I made the following changes:

1. I reduced the cumin by a quarter, but even then I and my dad felt it was too much. I would recommend reducing it by half and add more to taste.
2.In lieu of jalapeno peppers, I used Sriracha. Turned out great.
3.I added some smoked paprika, which gave it a light roasted flavor.
4. The soup was great as is, but I chose to add about 1-1 1/2 cups of heavy cream for richness, and it helped mellow the cumin and spiciness.

One thought on “Tex-Mex pumpkin soup

Leave a Reply

